September 8, 2011

  • Ridiculous: The Mindful Nonsense of Ricky’s Brain. A Review

          

           I reviewed this guy >>>> 510h3Znai5L__SL500_AA300_ on amazon.com 

     

     

           Yes I did. I read his book, and then I lay down a while, and then I wrote on Amazon what I’ve written below, and then I pasted it below here, and next I’m going to lay down some more. Because a bookful of Ricky is a great deal of Ricky indeed. 

     

     

           “It’s about two years since I first encountered this talkative person Ricky on Xanga, his blogging system of choice, and my first thought was “who does this guy think he is?” I now know the answer to that question; he is Ricky, and to Ricky’s mind, that’s justification enough for anything. Authority on the courage to accept the vulnerability of tears, Love Guru, counselor on the perfect handling of breakups, seeker of The Inner Batman, asker of the hard questions that others fear, or glibly skip over…. that’s Ricky, and if you don’t like it – tough!

     

           With plenty of time to think, and plenty of practice in doing it, Ricky charges in, wheels a-roaring, where lesser minds fear to tiptoe, and blasts out his thoughts on Love, Life, Right, Wrong, God and Faith etc. clearly and without hesitation. Ricky’s obviously thought these things out a million or more times in the not so many years of his life, and love him or hate him, this dynamic young man has created a masterwork here on how to dream despite all barriers.

     

           Read it for the laughs, or read it for the oddball perceptions, or read it because you’d like to know what Ricky’s razor-sharp mind thinks. But by all means, read it.”

Comments (12)

  • I can’t afford to shop on Amazon.com. I’ll check to see if the local library ordered a copy.

  • Are you done laying down yet? Lol. :p Thanks for the awesome review, Graham. You’ve captured a great deal of who I am and I’m glad you enjoyed the read… it was quite the journey, writing it. (:

  • I am still reading Ricky’s book. The only thing I can say so far… I am a little bit over qoarter… that is it for some strange reason very personal to me, like I am reading my family relationship saga….. I will write later, when I finish, to Ricky

  • @jasonwl - If you ask them to order a copy, they probably will. I know at least one New York library has a copy of one of mine due to http://wonderscafe.xanga.com/ asking them to order. You may have to go through a load of blah with them.

  • @Ludab - yes, Ricky went very deep. It was difficult too review, because how do you review in few words the work of a person who has been through much and said much? So I actually reviewed Ricky as author.

  • @DearRicky - I am new erect. That is to say, I am standing up.

  • Thank you for the review, now I’m definitely going to have to get his book.

  • I put in the request the day Ricky announced it being available. I don’t remember when that was. I checked for it today and it’s not in their collection or order list. Their message for purchase requests is, “If it’s from a popular author or series it will automatically be ordered as it becomes available; so don’t bother requesting those. Otherwise, if it’s recent or about to be released here’s a list of ways to describe it to us. We will order or not at our own discretion.” That’s not an actual quote, just paraphrasing from memory of reading the associated web page. I sent all the suggested details, transcribed from amazon.com, to the supplied email address with “order request” as the subject.

  • Secretly, YOU ARE DEAR RICKY.I figured you out….just like I am secretly GoddlessLiberal.

  • @FoliageDecay - Hmmm… I must investigate this GodlessLiberal person, and know your true nature. I am so beset with mysteries that I don’t know who’s who anymore. Never did, actually.

  • @jasonwl - sounds like a plan. There is always a lot of jiggling about needed to get libraries to act.

  • @ctaretz - Great. It would be something if we could use what clout Xanga has to make some writer well known. We are trying to do something with local media.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *