March 8, 2013

  • White Light Meditation, by D. F. Bailey

    D. F. Bailey’s style of writing is easy to read and unpretentious, and makes no exaggerated claims for the method he has developed after practicing various systems.

     

    I personally have practiced meditation for many years, and though I have not necessarily used the same methods (there are many systems) I can state firmly that meditation has made a great and noticeable improvement to the quality of my life, to the point where I could say that I need and appreciate it as much as I do the blood that sustains me. While I don’t wish to take the attitude of a fanatic, I would go so far as to say that it is the most valuable of the many useful things that aren’t (unfortunately) taught at school.  

    A great benefit of this book is that it is short and concise, and before describing his techniques Dr Bailey makes several essentials points, one being that meditation has nothing to do with religion in the sense that it is limited by, or invented by, or the property of this, that or the other religion. That we listen too much to the ramblings of our “monkey minds,” is another, and indeed we do. We need to schedule our time to fulfil our meditation needs before we let the busy day start to take its bite from us – again, this I’m fully in agreement with, from my own practical experience. 

    He also makes many highly essential but often overlooked points, such as that we need to have a secluded place for our daily practice, and outdoors may not be the best place. Lastly, he gives many useful links to studies conducted on the benefits of meditation, which, apart from a greater sense of peace, may include improved physical health, and lessening of dependence on drugs and alcohol, etc., which is certainly something this world needs more of.

     

    (This is a reproduction of my 7 March 1913 review on Amazon)

     

    My own Amazon Author’s Page

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *